DASH
Follow us

Devon Association of Smallholders

Training and Courses

Laine Shepherd is our training manager. Please talk to her to discuss your course requirements.

Please note: If for any reason you need to cancel your place on a course, 2 weeks notice prior to the course date will be required to receive a full refund.  If you have reserved a place, please make sure we receive payment 3 weeks before the course (6 weeks for non-members).

Current Courses

726-114 Towing Training Details
Please ask for dates. £65 (£85 for Non-members) - £630 depending on what is required

835-20 Poultry Keeping for Beginners Details
Sunday 22nd July (10am - 4pm) £60 (£80 for Non-members)

861-11 Chainsaw Competence Details
Thursday 26th July and Friday 27th July (9am PROMPT - 4pm) £235 (£255 for Non-members) price includes NPTC certification

856-122 A smallholder life for me: Becoming a smallholder Details
Saturday 11th August (10.00 - 16.00) £70 (£90 for Non-members)

871-124 Introduction to Setting up and Running Holiday Accommodation Details
Sunday 12th August (11am - 4.30pm) £50 (£70 for Non-members)

842-85 Goat Husbandry Details
Friday 31st August (10am - 4pm) £60 (£80 for Non-members) including a free copy of Peter's book

823-63 Building and Maintaining your own Website Details
Saturday 1st September (9.45 for 10am - 4.30pm) £75 (£95 for Non-members)

857-122 A smallholder life for me: Becoming a smallholder Details
Saturday 8th September (10.00 - 16.00) £70 (£90 for Non-members)

872-124 Introduction to Setting up and Running Holiday Accommodation Details
Sunday 9th September (11am - 4.30pm) £50 (£70 for Non-members)

874-11 Chainsaw Competence Details
Monday 17th September and Tuesday 18th September (9am PROMPT - 4pm) £235 (£255 for Non-members) price includes NPTC certification

824-72 Manage your accounts in Excel Details
Saturday 29th September £60 (£80 for Non-members)

845-64 An Introduction to Keeping Sheep Details
Sunday 7th October (10am - 5/5.30pm) £60 (£80 for Non-members)

850-112 Small scale apple pressing: making juice and cider Details
Saturday 13th October (10.00 - 16.00) £50 (£70 for Non-members)

847-47B Tractor Maintenance Details
Sunday 14th October (10am - 4pm) £55 (£75 for Non-members)

875-11 Chainsaw Competence Details
Thursday 18th October and Friday 19th October (9am PROMPT - 4pm) £235 (£255 for Non-members) price includes NPTC certification

873-124 Introduction to Setting up and Running Holiday Accommodation Details
Sunday 21st October (11am - 4.30pm) £50 (£70 for Non-members)

826-109 Living with Livestock - an introduction to sheep, pigs and cattle Details
Saturday 3rd November (9.30am - 4.45pm) £75 (£95 for Non-members)

876-11 Chainsaw Competence Details
Monday 19th November and Tuesday 20th November (9am PROMPT - 4pm) £235 (£255 for Non-members) price includes NPTC certification

825-63 Building and Maintaining your own Website Details
Saturday 8th December (9.45 for 10am - 4.30pm) £75 (£95 for Non-members)

877-11 Chainsaw Competence Details
Monday 10th December and Tuesday 11th December (9am PROMPT - 4pm) £235 (£255 for Non-members) price includes NPTC certification

Pay by faster payments:
Bank Account Name: DASH
Bank Account Number: 31351460
Bank Sort Code: 77-09-21
Bank: Lloyds
Reference: your membership
number and course number

Cheques can be sent to:
DASH Training
Basset Farm
Chilsworthy
HOLSWORTHY
DEVON
EX22 7BL
Make cheques payable to Devon Association of Smallholders


Training Officer: Laine Shepherd
Basset Farm, Chilsworthy, HOLSWORTHY. EX22 7BL
email: training@devonsmallholders.co.uk
Phone: 07595 296 613


To book your place on a course please email or phone to check availability. training@devonsmallholders.co.uk 07595 296 613

Please note: If for any reason you need to cancel your place on a course, 2 weeks notice prior to the course date will be required to receive a full refund. If you have reserved a place, please make sure we receive payment 3 weeks before the course (6 weeks for non-members). Thank you.

Most of our courses are aimed at adults and are quite intensive, so they are not aimed at children. If you would like to bring a child on a course please discuss it with the training manager before booking. It is assumed that bookings you make are for adults. Only people who have paid the course fee are allowed at the training venue. Do not bring pets or other animals to the training venue unless you are required to do so as part of the course. Most venues are working smallholdings and dogs or other animals (even if left in your car) are disruptive and compromise biosecurity.